A  W  A  H  O  N  O      S  C  H  O  O  L

Awahono School, located in Ahaura in the Grey Valley, is an amalgamation of four schools that were closed by the Minister of Education in 2005; Moonlight, Totara Flat, Ngahere and Ahaura. The school is a U2, decile 4 full Primary, with 80 students. The name Awahono means the merging or joining of rivers - each of the four closed schools has a river by their community that all flow into the stunning Grey River.